Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (104)

Narrator Rating (20)

Watching You: A Novel

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Lisa Jewell

Narrated By: Gabrielle Glaister

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Date: December 2018

Duration: 10 hours 50 minutes

Summary:

The instant New York Times and #1 Sunday Times bestselling author of the “riveting thriller” (PopSugar) Then She Was Gone delivers another suspenseful page-turner about a shocking murder in a picturesque and well-to-do English town, perfect “for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train, and Luckiest Girl Alive” (Library Journal).

Melville Heights is one of the nicest neighborhoods in Bristol, England; home to doctors and lawyers and old-money academics. It’s not the sort of place where people are brutally murdered in their own kitchens. But it is the sort of place where everyone has a secret. And everyone is watching you.

As the headmaster credited with turning around the local school, Tom Fitzwilliam is beloved by one and all—including Joey Mullen, his new neighbor, who quickly develops an intense infatuation with this thoroughly charming yet unavailable man. Joey thinks her crush is a secret, but Tom’s teenaged son Freddie—a prodigy with aspirations of becoming a spy for MI5—excels in observing people and has witnessed Joey behaving strangely around his father.

One of Tom’s students, Jenna Tripp, also lives on the same street, and she’s not convinced her teacher is as squeaky clean as he seems. For one thing, he has taken a particular liking to her best friend and fellow classmate, and Jenna’s mother—whose mental health has admittedly been deteriorating in recent years—is convinced that Mr. Fitzwilliam is stalking her.

Meanwhile, twenty years earlier, a schoolgirl writes in her diary, charting her doomed obsession with a handsome young English teacher named Mr. Fitzwilliam…

In Lisa Jewell’s latest brilliant “bone-chilling suspense” (People) no one is who they seem—and everyone is hiding something. Who has been murdered—and who would have wanted one of their neighbors dead? As “Jewell teases out her twisty plot at just the right pace” (Booklist, starred review), you will be kept guessing until the startling revelation on the very last page.

Genres:

  • Gabriella V.

    Great book, easy to listen to. Highly recommend.

  • Alison V.

    Reminded me a lot of big little lies. I enjoyed it and found it easy to listen to and easy enough to follow. I enjoyed the ending because it surprised me

  • Kristin M.

    The characters were not very likable. I found a lack of connection with them and the outcome. The narration was fantastic and there were some creative twists.

  • Lindsey D.

    Kind of slow but overall okay

  • Suzette L.

    Loved this book... kept me very interested!

  • Roland G.

    A little slow for me but generally entertaining

  • Sheree T.

    Great book! Kept me on the edge of my seat!

  • Diane G.

    Enjoyed!!! Fun escape.

  • Diana S.

    Loved this book! The twists and turns kept me glued to the story!

Watching You: A Novel

by Lisa Jewell

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Watching You: A Novel, Lisa Jewell