Where I Live Now: A Journey through Love and Loss to Healing and Hope

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Sharon Butala

Narrated By: Sharon Butala

Date: September 2019

Duration: 6 hours 18 minutes

Summary:

An intimate and uplifting book about finding renewal and hope through grief and loss. 'It was a terrible life; it was an enchanted life; it was a blessed life. And, of course, one day it ended.' -Sharon Butala In the tradition of Joan Didion's The Year of Magical Thinking, Diana Athill's Somewhere Towards the End, and Atul Gawande's Being Mortal comes a revelatory new book from one of our beloved writers. When Sharon Butala's husband, Peter, died unexpectedly, she found herself with no place to call home. Torn by grief and loss, she fled the ranchlands of southwest Saskatchewan and moved to the city, leaving almost everything behind. A lifetime of possessions was reduced to a few boxes of books, clothes, and keepsakes. But a lifetime of experience went with her, and a limitless well of memory-of personal failures, of a marriage that everybody said would not last but did, of the unbreakable bonds of family. Reinventing herself in an urban landscape was painful, and facing her new life as a widow tested her very being. Yet out of this hard-won new existence comes an astonishingly frank, compassionate and moving memoir that offers not only solace and hope but inspiration to those who endure profound loss. Often called one of this country's true visionaries, Sharon Butala shares her insights into the grieving process and reveals the small triumphs and funny moments that kept her going. Where I Live Now is profound in its understanding of the many homes women must build for themselves in a lifetime.

Genres:

Where I Live Now: A Journey through Love and Loss to Healing and Hope

by Sharon Butala

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Where I Live Now: A Journey through Love and Loss to Healing and Hope, Sharon Butala
Where I Live Now: A Journey through Love and Loss to Healing and Hope, Sharon Butala
This title is due for release on September 10, 2019.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Where I Live Now: A Journey through Love and Loss to Healing and Hope, Sharon Butala
This title is due for release on September 10, 2019
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Where I Live Now: A Journey through Love and Loss to Healing and Hope, Sharon Butala
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Where I Live Now: A Journey through Love and Loss to Healing and Hope, Sharon Butala

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.