Where the Past Begins: A Writer's Memoir

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Amy Tan

Narrated By: Amy Tan, Daniel Halpern

Publisher: HarperAudio

Date: October 2017

Duration: 14 hours 33 minutes


In Where the Past Begins, bestselling author of The Joy Luck Club and The Valley of Amazement Amy Tan reveals herself in a way she never has before, delving into her childhood, adolescence, family history, beginnings as a writer and professional life to explore the answers to questions of purpose and meaning that we all ask ourselves as we get older.
Moving from her childhood in Oakland and growing up with her Chinese parents through her success as a novelist, Amy Tan delves into her creative interests in music, the paralysis of beginning a new project, journal-writing and travelling. Where the Past Begins chronicles the making of a writer. With characteristic humor and poignant observation, Tan weaves a nontraditional introspective narrative that is as complex and vibrant as this beloved American novelist’s fiction. Interspersed with direct correspondence between the author and her editor, this audiobook will give fans and critics unparalleled insight into the author’s process, her thoughts on the literary enterprise, and her singularly warm, intelligent mind.


  • Kitty W.

    this was our book club selection for last month. Not a popular book with any members. Parts of the book are very interesting but most seems disjointed and rambling.

Where the Past Begins: A Writer's Memoir

by Amy Tan

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Where the Past Begins: A Writer's Memoir, Amy Tan