Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (29)

Narrator Rating (7)

The Whole Town's Talking: A Novel

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Fannie Flagg

Narrated By: Kimberly Farr

Publisher: Random House (Audio)

Date: November 2016

Duration: 12 hours 8 minutes

Summary:

The bestselling author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe is at her superb best in this fun-loving, moving novel about what it means to be truly alive.

Elmwood Springs, Missouri, is a small town like any other, but something strange is happening at the cemetery. Still Meadows, as it's called, is anything but still. Original, profound, The Whole Town's Talking, a novel in the tradition of Thornton Wilder's Our Town and Flagg's own Can't Wait to Get to Heaven, tells the story of Lordor Nordstrom, his Swedish mail-order bride, Katrina, and their neighbors and descendants as they live, love, die, and carry on in mysterious and surprising ways.

Lordor Nordstrom created, in his wisdom, not only a lively town and a prosperous legacy for himself but also a beautiful final resting place for his family, friends, and neighbors yet to come. "Resting place" turns out to be a bit of a misnomer, however. Odd things begin to happen, and it starts the whole town talking.

With her wild imagination, great storytelling, and deep understanding of folly and the human heart, the beloved Fannie Flagg tells an unforgettable story of life, afterlife, and the remarkable goings-on of ordinary people. In The Whole Town's Talking, she reminds us that community is vital, life is a gift, and love never dies.


From the Hardcover edition.

Genres:

  • Kristina Misic

    The book was okay and a sweet story. I thought the narrator was very good for this book.

  • pilar padilla

    This is a very boring, plot driven book. With no character development.