The Wife: A Novel of Psychological Suspense

Written by:
Alafair Burke
Narrated by:
Xe Sands

Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
58
Narrator
14
Release Date
January 2018
Duration
8 hours 10 minutes
Summary
His Scandal
Her Secret

From New York Times bestselling author Alafair Burke, a stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10—in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself.

When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother’s home to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past.

Six years later, thanks to a bestselling book and a growing media career, Jason has become a cultural lightning rod, placing Angela near the spotlight she worked so carefully to avoid. When a college intern makes an accusation against Jason, and another woman, Kerry Lynch, comes forward with an even more troubling allegation, their perfect life begins to unravel. Jason insists he is innocent, and Angela believes him. But when Kerry disappears, Angela is forced to take a closer look at the man she married. And when she is asked to defend Jason in court, she realizes that her loyalty to her husband could unearth old secrets.

This much-anticipated follow-up to Burke’s Edgar-nominated The Ex asks how far a wife will go to protect the man she loves: Will she stand by his side, even if he drags her down with him?
Reviews
Profile Avatar
Rachel K

I could not quit listening. Thought l had it all figured out, but l was no way near. Complete surprise.

Profile Avatar
Paige W

It was really good and worth the credit.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

This was a good enough book, well paced and the characters were believable and interesting because they were so "normal" but when something falls into the "psychological suspense" category and nothing that really gets under your skin or makes you do a double take happens it's a bit of a let down. That same fact also made the "plot twist" really obvious. So, an OK book but more of a legal drama than thrilling suspens in my opinion.

Profile Avatar
Admon A.

As always Alafair kept me engaged from start to finish

Profile Avatar
Keshia B

It was an interesting read. The ending was surprising and disturbing.

The Wife: A Novel of Psychological Suspense
This title is due for release on January 23, 2018.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
The Wife: A Novel of Psychological Suspense
This title is due for release on January 23, 2018
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
The Wife: A Novel of Psychological Suspense
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
The Wife: A Novel of Psychological Suspense

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.

1 Book added to cart
Subtotal
$24.99
View Cart