A Window Opens: A Novel

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Elisabeth Egan

Narrated By: Julia Whelan

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Date: August 2015

Duration: 11 hours 40 minutes

Summary:

*People’s “Summer’s Must-Reads”*

*“A winning, heartfelt debut.” —Good Housekeeping*

*Publishers Weekly “Best Summer Reads”*

Fans of I Don’t Know How She Does It and Where’d You Go, Bernadette? will cheer at this “fresh, funny take on the age-old struggle to have it all” (People) about what happens when a wife and mother of three leaps at the chance to fulfill her professional destiny—only to learn every opportunity comes at a price.

In A Window Opens, beloved books editor at Glamour magazine Elisabeth Egan brings us Alice Pearse, a compulsively honest, longing-to-have-it-all, sandwich generation heroine for our social-media-obsessed, lean in (or opt out) age. Like her fictional forebears Kate Reddy and Bridget Jones, Alice plays many roles (which she never refers to as “wearing many hats” and wishes you wouldn’t, either). She is a mostly-happily married mother of three, an attentive daughter, an ambivalent dog-owner, a part-time editor, a loyal neighbor and a Zen commuter. She is not: a cook, a craftswoman, a decorator, an active PTA member, a natural caretaker or the breadwinner. But when her husband makes a radical career change, Alice is ready to lean in—and she knows exactly how lucky she is to land a job at Scroll, a hip young start-up which promises to be the future of reading, with its chain of chic literary lounges and dedication to beloved classics. The Holy Grail of working mothers―an intellectually satisfying job and a happy personal life―seems suddenly within reach.

Despite the disapproval of her best friend, who owns the local bookstore, Alice is proud of her new “balancing act” (which is more like a three-ring circus) until her dad gets sick, her marriage flounders, her babysitter gets fed up, her kids start to grow up and her work takes an unexpected turn. Readers will cheer as Alice realizes the question is not whether it’s possible to have it all, but what does she―Alice Pearse―really want?

Genres:

  • Diana Hyland

    Did not love it. No real driving force. It was clearly headed toward a predictable resolution halfway through book. Fun play off corporate culture, but unbelievable that a modern woman would be so out of place in the workforce. The book made her out to be a dinosaur among Millennial's--opting for unremarkable close rather than heroic triumph. Didn't have the edge I was hoping for.

  • Marcia Wicks

    Enjoyed the book and the narrator very much. I recommend it.

  • Laura Cochran

    Touching story that was beautifully delivered by a gifted narrator. A good story for our time about keeping sight of what's important. This story has a lot of heart and some unexpected laughs.

Window Opens: A Novel

by Elisabeth Egan

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Window Opens: A Novel, Elisabeth Egan