Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (372)

Narrator Rating (41)

The World of Ice & Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones

Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher: Random House (Audio)

Date: October 2014

Duration: 21 hours 22 minutes

Summary:

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Perfect for fans of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO’s Game of Thrones—an epic history of Westeros and the lands beyond, featuring all-new material from George R. R. Martin!

If the past is prologue, then George R. R. Martin’s masterwork—the most inventive and entertaining fantasy saga of our time—warrants one hell of an introduction. At long last, it has arrived with The World of Ice & Fire.

This in-depth audiobook is a comprehensive history of the Seven Kingdoms, providing vividly constructed accounts of the epic battles, bitter rivalries, and daring rebellions that lead to the events of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO’s Game of Thrones. In a collaboration that’s been years in the making, Martin has teamed with Elio M. García, Jr., and Linda Antonsson, the founders of the renowned fan site Westeros.org—perhaps the only people who know this world almost as well as its visionary creator.

Collected here is all the accumulated knowledge, scholarly speculation, and inherited folk tales of maesters and septons, maegi and singers, including in-depth explorations of the history and culture of Westeros, and 100% all-new material, more than half of which Martin wrote specifically for this book.

The definitive companion piece to George R. R. Martin’s dazzlingly conceived universe, The World of Ice & Fire is indeed proof that the pen is mightier than a storm of swords.

Genres:

  • Brandon S

    An absolute must read. George R. R. Martin is most definitely the Tolkien of our time .

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  • Kori J.

    Yes this book is hard to listen to if you're not a huge fan of the books. The narrator is great and I wish he would narrate all books everywhere, I love to listen to him. The book is dry but after listening to all the books it's interesting to hear how things started!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Shane Kendrick

    Really good way to learn all you need to know about ancient Westeros in a clear and chronological way. Pictures are nice in the hardcopy but that is to be expected absent in audiobooks.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Timothy Rafferty

    Awesome! I Love Roy, he does all George RR books and he's absolutely awesome!!!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Jeremy Buwembo

    Huge Fan!!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Reed Starnes

    Wonderfully illustrates GRRM's World of Ice and Fire series. The identity and point of view of the characters are so heavily defined by the history and culture of the lands they hale and this book provides that all important background in rich detail. A must read for anyone following the series. Roy Dotrice is again superb with a refreshing counterpart in Nicholas Guy Smith reading the illustrations and footnotes.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Kenneth Casebolt

    If you've read the book series, this is a great companion book to listen to the back stories in one place.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  • Rodnry L.

    Awesome book and of course the narration was bang on- Godspeed Roy Dottice GOT books won’t sound the same without you

  • Micah D.

    Anything to keep me from thinking about Winds of Winter. Some very familiar material, but it definitely help broaden your understanding of ASOIAF. Very broad scope, and it’s fun to look at fiction from a historical perspective. Read the whole (current) canon before reading this or you will be lost!

  • David B.

    Great stories, worth a listen.

World of Ice & Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones

by Linda Antonsson, Elio Garcia, George R.R. Martin

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

World of Ice & Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones, Linda Antonsson, Elio Garcia, George R.R. Martin
World of Ice & Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones, Linda Antonsson, Elio Garcia, George R.R. Martin
This title is due for release on October 28, 2014.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
World of Ice & Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones, Linda Antonsson, Elio Garcia, George R.R. Martin
This title is due for release on October 28, 2014
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
World of Ice & Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones, Linda Antonsson, Elio Garcia, George R.R. Martin
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
World of Ice & Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones, Linda Antonsson, Elio Garcia, George R.R. Martin

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.