The Wrong Heaven

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Amy Bonnaffons

Narrated By: Alex Vaillant

Publisher: Hachette Book Group USA

Date: July 2018

Duration: 6 hours 15 minutes

Summary:

Including the story 'Horse,' as heard on This American Life.
For fans of George Saunders and Karen Russell, an 'amazing, wildly inventive' collection of stories that straddles the line between the real and the fantastical. (Kevin Wilson)
In The Wrong Heaven, anything is possible: bodies can transform, inanimate objects come to life, angels appear and disappear.

Bonnaffons draws us into a delightfully strange universe, in which her conflicted characters seek to solve their sexual and spiritual dilemmas in all the wrong places. The title story's heroine reckons with grief while arguing with loquacious Jesus and Mary lawn ornaments that come to life when she plugs them in. In 'Horse,' we enter a world in which women transform themselves into animals through a series of medical injections. In 'Alternate,' a young woman convinces herself that all she needs to revive a stagnant relationship is the perfect poster of the Dalai Lama.

While some of the worlds to which Bonnaffons transports us are more recognizable than others, all of them uncover the mysteries beneath the mundane surfaces of our lives. Enormously funny, boldly inventive, and as provocative as they are deeply affecting, these stories lay bare the heart of our deepest longings.

Genres:

Wrong Heaven

by Amy Bonnaffons

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Wrong Heaven, Amy Bonnaffons