Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (11)

Narrator Rating (5)

Yes, My Accent Is Real

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Kunal Nayyar

Narrated By: Kunal Nayyar

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Date: September 2015

Duration: 6 hours 43 minutes

Summary:

For fans of The Big Bang Theory, Aziz Ansari and Mindy Kaling comes a delightfully funny collection of essays by the Indian-American actor who plays the lovable, sincere yet incurably dorky character of Raj on CBS' hugely popular comedy.

In this revealing book, Kunal Nayyar traces his journey from a nervous little boy in New Delhi who mistakes an awkward first kiss for a sacred commitment, gets nosebleeds chugging coca-cola to impress the other students at his all-boys school, and counts his family's servants as his closest friends, to the confident guy on the set of one of television's most-watched shows who one day even gets to kiss the woman of his childhood dreams: Winnie Cooper from The Wonder Years.

Throughout, Kunal also introduces us to the people who helped him grow, chief among them his slick, mustachioed father. From his father, Kunal learned the most important lessons of his life: Treat a beggar as you would a king. There are two sides to every story. A smile goes a long way. And, when in doubt, use a spreadsheet.

Kunal also walks us through his college years in Portland, where he takes his first sips of alcohol and learns to let loose with his French gentle-giant roommate, where he works his first-ever job for the university's housekeeping department, and begins a series of romantic exploits which go just about as smoothly as they do for the character he plays on TV. (That is, until he meets and marries a former Miss India in an elaborate event which we get to experience in a chapter entitled, "My Big Fat Indian Wedding.")

Full of heart, but never taking itself too seriously, this is a coming-of-age story about a young man trying to find his place in between cultures, growing into himself as a person and a performer, and of the many, many embarrassing incidents that somehow miraculously prepared him to land the role that would make his career.

Genres:

  • Senaly S

    Such a brilliant read. Honest, refreshing and funny. Also wonderful to hear from someone who made it big but still maintains, embraces and respects his culture and religion.

  • Francoise Larouche

    Réal l'y loved it!! Kunal acting talent mâles it so interesting . It is like chating with him .

  • Becca Eller

    Just read it! You won't believe how good it is till you read it

  • Michanne Hoctor-Thompson

    Enjoyed learning about Kunal's culture. This book will help you to understand some experiences he had, his family traditions, and his path to playing Raj (David).

  • Heather Zane

    Great book if you want to hear about the man behind Raj