The Yield: A Novel

Unabridged Audiobook

Written By: Tara June Winch

Narrated By: Tony Briggs

Date: June 2020

Duration: 9 hours 50 minutes

Summary:

Winner of the 2020 Miles Franklin Literary Award! 

'A beautifully written novel that puts language at the heart of remembering the past and understanding the present.'—Kate Morton

“A groundbreaking novel for black and white Australia.”—Richard Flanagan, Man Booker Prize winning author of The Narrow Road to the Deep North

A young Australian woman searches for her grandfather's dictionary, the key to halting a mining company from destroying her family's home and ancestral land in this exquisitely written, heartbreaking, yet hopeful novel of culture, language, tradition, suffering, and empowerment in the tradition of Louise Erdrich, Sandra Cisneros, and Amy Harmon. 

Knowing that he will soon die, Albert “Poppy” Gondiwindi has one final task he must fulfill. A member of the indigenous Wiradjuri tribe, he has spent his adult life in Prosperous House and the town of Massacre Plains, a small enclave on the banks of the Murrumby River. Before he takes his last breath, Poppy is determined to pass on the language of his people, the traditions of his ancestors, and everything that was ever remembered by those who came before him. The land itself aids him; he finds the words on the wind.


After his passing, Poppy’s granddaughter, August, returns home from Europe, where she has lived the past ten years, to attend his burial. Her overwhelming grief is compounded by the pain, anger, and sadness of memory—of growing up in poverty before her mother’s incarceration, of the racism she and her people endured, of the mysterious disappearance of her sister when they were children; an event that has haunted her and changed her life. Her homecoming is bittersweet as she confronts the love of her kin and news that Prosperous is to be repossessed by a mining company. Determined to make amends and honor Poppy and her family, she vows to save their land—a quest guided by the voice of her grandfather that leads into the past, the stories of her people, the secrets of the river.

Told in three masterfully woven narratives, The Yield is a celebration of language and an exploration of what makes a place 'home.' A story of a people and a culture dispossessed, it is also a joyful reminder of what once was and what endures—a powerful reclaiming of Indigenous language, storytelling, and identity, that offers hope for the future.

Genres:

Yield: A Novel

by Tara June Winch

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Yield: A Novel, Tara June Winch
Yield: A Novel, Tara June Winch
This title is due for release on June 2, 2020.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Yield: A Novel, Tara June Winch
This title is due for release on June 2, 2020
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Yield: A Novel, Tara June Winch
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Yield: A Novel, Tara June Winch

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.