All the Ever Afters: The Untold Story of Cinderella’s Stepmother

Written by:
Danielle Teller
Narrated by:
Jane Copland

Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
38
Narrator
4
Release Date
May 2018
Duration
10 hours 56 minutes
Summary
In the vein of Wicked, The Woodcutter, and Boy, Snow, Bird, a luminous reimagining of a classic tale, told from the perspective of Agnes, Cinderella’s 'evil' stepmother.

We all know the story of Cinderella. Or do we?

As rumors about the cruel upbringing of beautiful newlywed Princess Cinderella roil the kingdom, her stepmother, Agnes, who knows all too well about hardship, privately records the true story. . . .

A peasant born into serfdom, Agnes is separated from her family and forced into servitude as a laundress’s apprentice when she is only ten years old. Using her wits and ingenuity, she escapes her tyrannical matron and makes her way toward a hopeful future. When teenaged Agnes is seduced by an older man and becomes pregnant, she is transformed by love for her child. Once again left penniless, Agnes has no choice but to return to servitude at the manor she thought she had left behind. Her new position is nursemaid to Ella, an otherworldly infant. She struggles to love the child who in time becomes her stepdaughter and, eventually, the celebrated princess who embodies everyone’s unattainable fantasies. The story of their relationship reveals that nothing is what it seems, that beauty is not always desirable, and that love can take on many guises.

Lyrically told, emotionally evocative, and brilliantly perceptive, All the Ever Afters explores the hidden complexities that lie beneath classic tales of good and evil, all the while showing us that how we confront adversity reveals a more profound, and ultimately more important, truth than the ideal of 'happily ever after.'
Reviews
Profile Avatar
Annie

Excellent re-imagining of a classic.

Profile Avatar
Yo S.

I enjoyed "All the Ever Afters." As a historical fiction it is believable and enjoyable. Scenes are well depicted and the characters interesting. I assume that this book would resonate especially well with women as it addresses issues and predicament uniquely imposed upon female folks. As the protagonist, Agnes, is so likable (because of her determination to live and her ingenuity) in the first half, the second half--SPOILER ALERT--was a bit hard because her mortal limitations come through. But all that human imperfections of the characters make this story all the more convincing and serve as a food for thought whose taste lingers long after having finished reading.

1 book added to cart
Subtotal
$27.99
View Cart