Medicine Walk

Written by:
Richard Wagamese
Narrated by:
Tom Stechschulte

Unabridged Audiobook

Ratings
Book
106
Narrator
39
Release Date
May 2015
Duration
8 hours 3 minutes
Summary
By the celebrated author of Canada Reads Finalist Indian Horse, a stunning new novel that has all the timeless qualities of a classic, as it tells the universal story of a father/son struggle in a fresh, utterly memorable way, set in dramatic landscape of the BC Interior. For male and female readers equally, for readers of Joseph Boyden, Cormac McCarthy, Thomas King, Russell Banks and general literary. Franklin Starlight is called to visit his father, Eldon. He's sixteen years old and has had the most fleeting of relationships with the man. The rare moments they've shared haunt and trouble Frank, but he answers the call, a son's duty to a father. He finds Eldon decimated after years of drinking, dying of liver failure in a small town flophouse. Eldon asks his son to take him into the mountains, so he may be buried in the traditional Ojibway manner. What ensues is a journey through the rugged and beautiful backcountry, and a journey into the past, as the two men push forward to Eldon's end. From a poverty-stricken childhood, to the Korean War, and later the derelict houses of mill towns, Eldon relates both the desolate moments of his life and a time of redemption and love and in doing so offers Frank a history he has never known, the father he has never had, and a connection to himself he never expected. A novel about love, friendship, courage, and the idea that the land has within it powers of healing, Medicine Walk reveals the ultimate goodness of its characters and offers a deeply moving and redemptive conclusion. Wagamese's writing soars and his insight and compassion are matched by his gift of communicating these to the reader.
Reviews
Profile Avatar
Talita H.

Beautifully written, and beautifully spoken

Profile Avatar
Kristen N.

This book is a must read. The young man’s relationship with the land is just as intriguing as his relationship with his father and guardian. The narrator does a tremendous job with this book. Anyone who has ever had a relationship or been close to an alcoholic should read this book.

Profile Avatar
Sandra W.

Although staged at a slow pace this book was riveting. A very intimate discourse on human nature which draws the reader into the equation. The narration was probably the best I have ever heard. I am glad I listened to this book rather than read it because I have a tendency to gloss over minute details. In this case, that would have lessened the impact of the story.

Profile Avatar
Dayna A.

This is written and read with so much sincerity, I had such feeling for the characters and found the many different relationships explored in the story fascinating. Haunting, beautiful, will listen again and highly recommend.

Profile Avatar
Helen C.

Really enjoyed this book. Refreshingly different and engrossing storyline. Excellent narration, will look out for other books he has narrated.

Profile Avatar
Suzanne M.

Absolutely excellent book so many things to learn in it. Lots of detailed information on Indian ways, folklore, relationships. A must read

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Incredible! Emotional. Intentional. I enjoyed the entire experience from the story to narration. I’m a hard book person but the story telling and tone was elevated by the narrator. Strongly recommend. Be patient it’s worth the journey

Profile Avatar
Laurie R.

Thoroughly enjoyed. Reader was great.

Profile Avatar
Anonymous

Phenomenal story !!! Would make an Academy Award winning movie if done right !!!

Profile Avatar
Gina M.

Gina Beautifully written and an incredible story reflecting the powerful influence a father (or father figure) has on building the character of a man and how the absence of a father can impact the direction of a life. I was deeply moved by this story and highly recommend it. This was my top read of 2020 - that said in a very challenging year of reads! Narration also top notch!

Profile Avatar
Rich

Great narration highly recommended. Brought the Indian characters to life.

Profile Avatar
Mary G.

Beautifully graphic. Good take wonderfullly read.

Profile Avatar
Kimberly Speelman

This narrator brought the characters to life for Wagamese's seemingly personal tale.

Profile Avatar
Kathy T.

I really enjoyed listening to the book. i highly recommend.

Medicine Walk
This title is due for release on May 12, 2015.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Medicine Walk
This title is due for release on May 12, 2015
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Medicine Walk
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Medicine Walk

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.

1 book added to cart
Subtotal
$19.99
View Cart