Black Friday Sale On Now!

Give as a Gift

Send this book as a Gift!

Book Rating (11)

Narrator Rating (5)

Saint X: A Novel

Unabridged Audiobook

Date: February 2020

Duration: 12 hours 26 minutes

Summary:

A New York Times Notable Books of 2020

'Alexis Schaitkin’s splashy debut novel, Saint X, is an audiobook lover’s dream...Queue this one up for a murderous, dreamy delight.' — Paste

Hailed as a “marvel of a book” and “brilliant and unflinching,” Alexis Schaitkin’s stunning debut, Saint X, is a haunting portrait of grief, obsession, and the bond between two sisters never truly given the chance to know one another.

Claire is only seven years old when her college-age sister, Alison, disappears on the last night of their family vacation at a resort on the Caribbean island of Saint X. Several days later, Alison’s body is found in a remote spot on a nearby cay, and two local men–employees at the resort–are arrested. But the evidence is slim, the timeline against it, and the men are soon released. The story turns into national tabloid news, a lurid mystery that will go unsolved. For Claire and her parents, there is only the return home to broken lives.

Years later, Claire is living and working in New York City when a brief but fateful encounter brings her together with Clive Richardson, one of the men originally suspected of murdering her sister. It is a moment that sets Claire on an obsessive pursuit of the truth–not only to find out what happened the night of Alison’s death but also to answer the elusive question: Who exactly was her sister? At seven, Claire had been barely old enough to know her: a beautiful, changeable, provocative girl of eighteen at a turbulent moment of identity formation.

As Claire doggedly shadows Clive, hoping to gain his trust, waiting for the slip that will reveal the truth, an unlikely attachment develops between them, two people whose lives were forever marked by the same tragedy.

For fans of Emma Cline’s The Girls and Lauren Groff’s Fates and Furies, Saint X is a flawlessly drawn and deeply moving story that culminates in an emotionally powerful ending.

Praise for Saint X:

“Here is a marvel of a book, a kaleidoscopic examination of race and privilege, family and self, told with the propulsive, kinetic focus of a crime novel. Brilliant and unflinching, Saint X marks the debut of a stunningly gifted writer. I simply couldn’t stop reading.' – Chang-rae Lee, author of On Such A Full Sea

“Richly atmospheric, by turns coolly satiric and warmly romantic, Alexis Schaitkin’s brilliant debut novel Saint X imagines a chorus of voices in the aftermath of the alleged rape/murder of a privileged American girl vacationing in an exotic Caribbean country. Part ’true-crime’ thriller and part coming-of-age novel narrated by the deceased girl’s younger sister, Saint X is irresistibly suspenseful and canny.' — Joyce Carol Oates

Genres:

  • Krystal R.

    Suspenseful but a little disappointed with how it all turned out.

  • Anonymous

    Worst book ever. All over the place with thoughts. Half could be eliminated. Kept thinking at least the end had to be good right? Umm no

  • Jennifer C.

    this story was layered and suspenseful. The story of a murder sprawls out across years and narrators in carefully delivered elegance. The character of Clive is so fully developed and heartbreaking all at once. I loved this story and the voices that told it.

Saint X: A Novel

by Alexis Schaitkin

has successfully been added to your shopping cart

Saint X: A Novel, Alexis Schaitkin
Saint X: A Novel, Alexis Schaitkin
This title is due for release on February 18, 2020.

Enter your email below to be notified as soon as it is available!

By clicking "Notify Me" you consent to receiving electronic marketing communications from Audiobooks.com. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Already a member? Log In to add this title to your wishlist.
Saint X: A Novel, Alexis Schaitkin
This title is due for release on February 18, 2020
We'll send you an email as soon as it is available!

Already a member?
Log in to add this title in your wishlist
Saint X: A Novel, Alexis Schaitkin
Please Log in and add this title to your wishlist.
Saint X: A Novel, Alexis Schaitkin

We will send you an email as soon as this title is available.